One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to advancements in health care, people now live longer than was experienced five decades ago, and many wonder if the positives overshadow the negatives. In my opinion, the merits outweigh the drawbacks in the long run. While our societies suffered from overpopulation during the early days that these improvements in health care technology was introduced, our leaders gradually turned this into an increase in revenue for the government.

The first setback that my country witnessed as a result of the rise in life expectancy was overpopulation. We had more people alive than the resources can cater for. As a result, people fought for virtually everything. Housing was not enough for every one and the roads were always congested because, we had more people using it at a time than it can accommodate. There was also a huge rise in unemployment. The industries were not prepared for the surge in man hours. Loss time injuries and sicknesses to employees were drastically reduced. Employers sought to maximize their revenues and the only way to do this was to stick to their forecast of man hours ab initio. This resulted in the laying off of some staff and in turn, contributed to the growing rate of unemployment. These effects however, didn't live for long.

Our government helped the companies to expand their production capabilities which immediately resulted in the employment of more people and increase in revenue for the government. With extra cash, our nation expanded its infrastructures to accommodate the growing population. Also, people had more money to pay for goods and services, leading to everyone being financially independent.

In addition, those who couldn't take paid jobs took to agriculture. Majority embarked on commercial farming and their was food for all. The country produced enough, that it had so much farm products to export. It was a win-win situation for all.

In conclusion, the advantages of living longer far more overshadows its disadvantages. What societies must learn is to turn the seemingly negative effects of overpopulation to positive ones. This can be achieved by expanding the industries to employ more hands as well as extending the reach of their local products to foreign countries.