One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Advancements in the fields of science and medicine have enabled human mankind to stay alive longer. The technology has attributed to this phenomenon of elongated epoch of life after retirement. This essay will try to understand the pros and cons of such an increase in life expectancy.

The first major advantage of the above scenario is that people who have been diagnosed with a malady can be treated more effectively. Thus, in this case the patient will not have to suffer pain because the medicines and the treatment is more effective. Moreover, this means a greater chance of survival and the family of the patient gets to save their loved one and cherish the feeling of togetherness for a longer time.

In continuity, such improvements means opening of new avenues for research and further study. This attributes to people taking a course in the related field. This further creates the need of skilled people who can provide their help in conducting researches and further achieving results that can be put to create life saving drugs for the mankind.

A disadvantage to the above is the increase in the aging population that are not fit to do a job or have attained the retiring age. For example, in Japan a major chunk of population is old and living in old age homes. In this case, there is shortage of young brains and fresh legs when it comes to job opportunities. Further, there are not enough volunteers to help the older generation and to look after their well being.

To recapitulate, the merits clearly outweigh the demerits of having a refined medical care for a prolonged survival of human mankind. The utmost and best care should be giving to patients affected by a disease so that they can enjoy the beautiful journey called life.