One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

People are living longer and as a result, growth in life expectancy is observed due to improvement in medical care facilities. In my opinion, advancement in medical facilities is certainly aiding people by curing them of life threatening diseases which indeed is a benefit to the society and does outweighs its drawbacks.

Firstly, Quality of supervision in hospitals and medical expertise provided by doctors has drastically seen a change over the years. With the development of medicines, we now have a cure for diseases such as yellow fever, polio, malaria etc. which used to take hundreds and thousands of life a century ago. For instance, without medical science, people used to have a life expectancy of around 20-30 years due to which they were unable to take care of their children which led to a slowdown in children's skill level development, as their parents used to die before they enter teenage phase of their life and they were left on their own to sustain their living. Yellow fever itself took more than 10 million lives in India before it's cure was developed which itself increased life expectancy to 40 years.

Secondly, Doctors and scientists are yet to find a cure for various types of cancer and disease such as AIDS. Moreover, there are some disease for which we don't have a solution yet and medicines can only aid the patient in living a longer life rather than a quality one. As the patient might need many resources and assistance for each trivial task, It is often thought that it is wastage of resource which can benefit other patient in dire need of it. Also, medicines used in treating a disease may have side-effects and can have an adverse effect on other organs which might lead to a new disease altogether.

To conclude, Improvement in medical science does help people live longer but does not ensure them of a healthy quality life. Advantages of medicine still outweighs disadvantages that it brings along with it.