Some countries encourage teenagers to have part-time job and see it as a good thing, while others disagree. Give your opinion and explain both views.

It is a growing trend in most developed countries to encourage teenagers especially students to pursue part-time jobs along with their education. In my opinion, advantages of having a part-time job outweighs its disadvantages in the sense that capital earned by a student through a part-time job can be ploughed back into supporting his/her education. This essay delves into both the positive and negative outcomes of having a temporary part-time job at an early age.

Many people have an impression that committing to a temporary job while studying affects a student life adversely. For instance, a student or a teenager might dedicate a large proportion of his/her time doing a part-time job. Consequently, he/she will be having less time to focus on his/her education which might defeat the primary purpose of pursuing a part-time job. Furthermore, according to a radical study in countries of North America, approximately 30% of teenagers leave their education midway and transform their temporary job into a permanent one.

Albeit there may be repercussions, part-time job serve as a boon for majority of teenager population who supports their education through these part-time jobs. These jobs also assist teenagers to mitigate financial pressure on themselves and their families. Having a part-time job also render teenagers socially active and imbibes a sense of responsibility in them. Moreover, majority of students end up being successful professionals after completely their education due to the skills they learn while doing their respective part-time jobs.

To conclude, advantages of having a part-time job eclipse the disadvantages of not having one. However, it is also imperative for universities to conduct a counselling for students in order to guide them about time management and therefore, curb the negative impacts of teenager's involvement in part-time jobs.