Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries Explain the main causes and effects of this problem and suggest some possible solutions

Nowadays, children of many countries are becoming obese and this in turn is becoming a serious worldwide issue. Major reasons, repercussions and solutions of childhood obesity are discussed in this essay.

Firstly, children often become obese and overweight during their childhood due to consumption of fast food and sugary soft drinks. These food habits proliferate the body fat percentage and lay the foundation of childhood obesity. For instance, according to a survey in North America, most obese children are introduced to fast foods like soft drinks, pizza and burger at early stages of their life. The issue aroused due to sedentary lifestyle of children as they mostly spend their spare time on video games and gadgets. In addition to this, children also prefer to remain indoors instead of involving themselves in any physical activity. Due to lack of physical exercise, children gain more weight which adds to their obesity.

When these children grow up, they become prone to diseases such as sugar and diabetes. Hence, measures should be taken by parents and authorities to curb growing population of obese children. For instance, parents should encourage their children to take up sports or group activities involving physical activities. Regular workout is also one of the numerous ways to attenuate this issue. Moreover, government can also discourage use of fast food and soft drinks by imposing additional taxes on them. Children should also be made aware of having a healthy diet in their schools.

To conclude, although, childhood obesity might seem a rapidly growing problem, effective measures can be taken to eradicate it from world. This requires concerned people to remain active most of the time.