It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.To what extent do your agree or disagree with this opinion?What sort of punishment should parents and

Many parents and teachers are increasingly resolving to punishing children in order to imbibe discipline in them. Some people believe that using punishment is essential as it will help children to distinguish between right and wrong. This essay will argue that why punishment is unnecessary and what other methods can be employed by parents and teachers to assist them in becoming responsible individuals.

Punishing children is one of the methods to make children differentiate between correct and incorrect things. Parents generally punish their children when they involve themselves in something unethical. For instance, children might think that it is justified to take things from a supermarket unless they are advised against it. Children might still end up stealing things as they usually do things opposite to what their parents ask them. For these reasons, parents have to punish their children in order to refrain them of activities that are unethical.

Conversely, some parents believe that idea of punishment itself is preposterous as it might affect their creative thinking adversely. Adopting various methods of corporal punishments can create a sense of fear among children due to which they will restrain themselves from working on new things. As an illustration, a few underperforming children at a school in North America when interviewed said that their parents usually beat them up for committing small mistakes. Therefore, a major demographic of children is still underconfident as they are too scared to pursue their interests.

To conclude, although, punishment might seem as an instant remedy for any wrong doings of children, it affects healthy development of a child on a large scale. Therefore, teachers and parents should analyse the insights of punishments before applying them on children.