Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.Discuss both these views and give your

According to some people, children should utilize their free time participating in organised group activities instead of being occupied with themselves. In my opinion, children learn a lot more skills such as leadership and teamwork when they get involved in group activities and they should utilize their spare time doing the same.

Firstly, It is often thought that children should learn to be with themselves and become independent as they might have to live alone in future and face hardships of life. As an illustration, my brother is dependent on my parents for food, clothing and shelter despite being capable himself. However, If children are left alone without supervision, they might end up devoting most of their time in playing video games instead of outdoor games which effect their eyesight adversely. According to a survey in North America, 60% of children under 5 years of age who play video games regularly require spectacles to see clearly.

However, children involved in outdoor group activities are considered to be active and healthy. Moreover, outdoor sports help children develop leadership skills which are beneficial to them when they grow old and start taking up jobs. For instance, most successful entrepreneurs were involved in outdoor sports activities during their childhood. Furthermore, group activities involves teamwork which teaches them an integral part of corporate work culture.

To conclude, advantages of taking up group activities overshadows the benefit of spending time alone. Therefore, parents should encourage their children to go out and participate in these activities.