You are given climate as the field of study. Which area will you prefer? Explain why you picked up the particular area for your study?

If I was asked to study climate, I would choose global warming as my subject of study as it is one of the preeminent issues that is encountered by the world currently and very less attention has been given to this field currently.

Global warming is the root cause of major climatic changes occurring throughout the world due to which hot areas such as deserts are becoming more hotter and cold areas are becoming even colder. For instance, Sahara desert has experienced a weather of 52 degrees in summers which used to be maximum of 40 degrees a decade ago. Adding to this, Sunderbans forests in eastern part of India has experienced 300 mm of rainfall this year which is much more than what it experienced last year which led to floods during monsoon in couple of states leading to loss of human as well as animal life. The issue is much more visible nowadays and is continuing to show its effect which is currently being ignored by the authorities. More rigorous steps should be taken by government in order to curb the root cause of climate changes across the world.

Most prominent repercussion of global warming is melting of ice caps in northern most part of earth. To illustrate, Antarctica has lost half of its ice cap in past 2 decades which led to flooding of coastal regions in many countries. Moreover, Global warming is leading to many other natural disasters namely tornadoes, cyclones and even earthquakes. Pollution is also adding to depletion of ozone layer in the earth's stratosphere which makes the earth surface even warmer as more carbon-dioxide is trapped near the surface. Using alternate fuels for automobiles can help mitigate the issue of global warming and help preserve climatic conditions in earth's atmosphere.

To conclude, Global warming might not seem as a serious issue currently but we are already seeing the outcome of our negligence and might have to bear the consequences of taking the climatic conditions lightly.