Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is belief of some people that artists ought to be provided with total independence to express their thoughts and ideas. In my opinion, an artist should be given certain amount of freedom to express any ideas in his/her work but he/she should be careful enough to not hurt the sentiments of people through his/her paintings.

Firstly, It is often thought that artists' skill and capability is attenuated if they are bound to work on restricted set of items. For instance, if an artist is asked to make portraits of people and his skill lies in drawing landscapes, he might not be able to produce his best work in that particular field. However, if provided with enough freedom, an artist might come up with something as spectacular as Monalisa's painting which displays multiple emotions. Additionally, many people think that if the spectators do not like some artist's work, they always have the option of skipping seeing his/her work.

However, famous artists should be careful in expressing any potential derogatory substance in their paintings. As an illustration, world famous Indian artist M.F. Hussain was remarked as a traitor and was eventually deported from the country for showing Hindu gods Ram and Sita in the intercourse. This kind of painting might hurt the sentiments of plethora of Hindu population who worship Ram and Sita and also consider them as a symbol of purity.

To conclude, artists should be given enough freedom so that they can demonstrate their best work in their paintings. However, they should be considerate towards emotions of certain sections of the society.