At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the majority of population in most countries entails young adults compared to old individuals. Average age of the workforce has profoundly affected the productivity and growth of such nations. This essay delves into the advantages as well as the disadvantages of having a large number of young or old people in a country.

It is often perceived that young adults are more productive than their counterpart in the sense that they can devote a large proportion of their time towards their job in respective industries. Furthermore, young pupils are not afraid of taking risks and are open to newer technologies introduced in the industries. According to a radical survey in a renowned aeronautical factory located in North America, 76% of workers aged below 30 consider machines used to fabricate airplane parts are now obsolete and need to be replaced whereas only 36% of workers aged above 40 agreed to the same. Consequently, it can be predicted that young generation is more open to new technologies compared to older people.

Conversely, there may be repercussions of having only young workforce, as they need to be trained first before they can start to contribute in manufacturing products. Old and experienced workers can efficiently handle this role in preparing new workers and can help in making them accustomed with the whereabouts of product manufacturing. For Instance, Reliance industries comprises of 20% population of above 40 individuals who guide and train their younger peers for their respective jobs. However, one cannot ignore the fact that the relatively older workforce cannot work for long hours and are rather inefficient in performing grueling work compared to their counterpart.

To conclude, an efficient workforce must consists of individuals with diversified skill sets and age groups to ensure adequate performance of a developing country. As each section of society brings something unique, therefore, it would not be rational to undermine efforts of any individual in a country.