Nowadays many countries are facing the problem of heavy traffic and congestion Describe the situation in your home country and suggest some solutions

Congestion and heavy traffic are two of the most prominent issues faced by most countries at present. My home country India is also a victim of excessive traffic leading to severe congestion in most major cities. This essay discusses the major causes of traffic and how it can be mitigated effectively.

Heavy traffic in India is a result of degrading quality of roads and overpopulation in the country. Due to availability of cheap cars in India, individuals possess multiple vehicles which means more cars on fewer roads. This amplifies burden on the road system. Appropriate steps should be taken by authorities to ensure urban areas are equipped with better quality roads so as to diminish the traffic problems and prevent accidents.

Furthermore, people in India are not afraid to break traffic rules which is a result of lack of regulation by government. Breaking traffic rules adds to misery of already handicapped road traffic management system. For Instance, 1100 of the last 2000 accidents took place due to drivers' negligence. Adding to it are corrupt police officers who often take bribes from people breaking rules. In order to completely eliminate traffic congestion problems, authorities need to be more stringent in the implementation of regulations.

To conclude, though heavy traffic and congestion issues are part and parcel of an overpopulated country like India, steps can be taken to eradicate these problems completely. This will help in making the country a better place for everyone.