Nowadays, a lot of children are using mobile phones. Many say it is good. Some say it is bad. What is your opinion?

Slowly and gradually mobile phones are becoming an indispensable part of human lives. As a result, a lot of children are also routinely exposed to cell phones in early phase of their childhood. While some people believe that these phones have an adverse effect on children, others think they are imperative in upbringing of children. They essay shall delve into both the viewpoints and will explain why the idea of providing smart phones to children is preposterous.

It is a growing trend in a lot of developed countries to use smart phones as a tool to develop skills in children. Parents generally allow their children to play educational games on their smart phones as they hope that it will enhance skills in their children. For instance, there are numerous applications which support learning abilities in children including BYJUs, pariksha and learnplay to name but a few. For these reasons, parents are willing to provide their children with the best resources they have at their expense. Therefore, it won't be irrational to ignore the benefits a smart phone can have on children's growth.

Conversely, though mobile phones might look like the perfect alternative for any recreational activity that children can pursue, it has its own shortcomings. As children have access to an infinite pool of free downloadable applications on these cell phones, they generally end up involving themselves in something useless. As an illustration, 80% of children in India aged between 8-15 who have access to smart phones end up spending most of their time on social networking sites such as facebook, instagram and whatsapp instead of the learning applications. Furthermore, it has a detrimental effect on their vision and they end up wearing spectacles at a very young age. Hence, parents should encourage their children to participate in outdoor activities which will help them become socially and physically active.

To conclude, although smart phones might seem a great asset to develop skillful children, it is instead a superficially attractive concept that will end up having harmful repercussions on children's growth. In my opinion, children should refrain themselves from using these cell phones and rather indulge them in fruitful outdoor activities.