One way to solve the problem of congestion on the roads is to increase the tax on private vehicles.

How could this alleviate congestion?

What other measures can you suggest to deal with congestion in cities?

One of the major concern on road is the problem of heavy traffic. This essay will discuss how higher tax on private vehicles can alleviate this problem and propose other possible measures to curb this.

With regards to levying substantial taxes on private automobiles, an important outcome is that only affluent individuals can afford to maintain it. As a result, an average person will hesitate to purchase a car and the sales will drop drastically. For example, in India, in Union territories, the taxes on motor vehicles is very low, which makes if affordable for middle-class families. Consequently, if there is an increase in tax charges, then such families will not purchase and use other means of available transportation. Accordingly, there will be reduction in flow of traffic.

Other cardinal measures to combat problems of traffic-jam are ameliorating public transportation and creating bike lanes. With regards to the former, government needs to improve modes of public transport by construction of trams and metro rails, which should have greater frequencies to maintain convenience and effectiveness. As for the latter, construction of bike lanes will also reduce traffic congestion and also encourage go green campaigns by reducing emissions. For instance, majority of the European countries such as Britain and Germany follow aforesaid model of transport system, as a result, they are the most minimal polluted cities in the world.

In conclusion, although higher taxes is one of the measures, improving public transportation and idea of constructing bi-cycle lanes will assist in minimizing problem of traffic congestion.