People prefer to communicate through social media and internet rather than face-to-face meetings. Is this positive or negative?

Nowadays, communication through social media and the World Wide Web have been preferred by some people rather than direct meetings. I disagree with that; it harms our life. This essay shows the disadvantages of communicating through the internet and phone applications and their effect on societal norms.

Firstly, dealings with others by using Social networking programs such as Facebook and WhatsApp have their drawbacks. Not only does it slowly kill activism and replacing it with slacktivism but also it creates a great gap between family members. In addition to, media sharing has encouraged the public to use computers and mobile phones to express their concerns on social issues without actually having to engage actively with others in real life, which is against societal norms. For instance, research from a societal magazine in 2019 showed that the crack among family members was increasing by 30% from 2017 to 2018. As almost a quarter the world’s population is now on Facebook.

Secondly, the rise of using internet communicating applications around the globe hurts interpersonal communication skills. People are depending on indirect communications with others they have low personal communications skills. For example, in 2018, a study has been published by the New York Times newspaper reported that communication skills of people who are using interpersonal communications have a high level of communication skills rather than who depend on indirect communication during social media network.

In conclusion, the power of social media and the internet have shifted the balance from the hands of a few to the masses. Therefore, communications through their effect on our social and ethical behaviour. I believe that Face- to- Face meetings are still the most effective way to communicate with others.