People prefer to communicate through social media and internet rather than face-to-face meetings. Is this positive or negative?

Communicating through Social media and the internet has been being preffered more than direct communication. I dissagree that communicating through different applications is the best. This essay shows the disadvantages of the usage of intentet programs.

On one hand, the exaggerated usage of Social network applications such as Facebook and WhatsApp are slowly killing activism and replacing it with slacktivism which leads to serious personal issues like introvertedness. Moreover, it creates a gap between family members and waists their time. In addition to that, media sharing has encouraged the public to use computers and mobile phones to express their concerns on social issues without actually having to engage actively with others in real life, which is against societal norms. For instance, a research has been published by a societal magazine in 2019 showed that the gab between family members increased by 30% from 2017 to 2018.

On the other hand, on work level, the rise of using internet communicating applications even while interviewing new employees harms their communication skills; People who depend on indirect communications with others, have a lack of personal communications skills. For example, in 2018 a study has been published by the New York Times newspaper reported that communication skills of people who are using interpersonal communications have a high level of communication skills rather than who depend on indirect communication during social media network.

In conclusion, the power of social media and the internet have shifted the balance from the hands of a few to the masses. Therefore, communications through them affects our social behaviour. I believe that Face- to- Face meetings are still the most effective way to communicate with others.