People's shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than any other factors.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The way men and women purchase something is most likely to depend on their age and specific needs at that point in time rather than other elements such as income, quality of the product. I agree with this notion because of the fact that the shopping patterns differ from youngsters to middle age groups to elders. While thinking pattern is one reason, other is society influence.

Our brains mature and behavioral patterns change as we age. People aged below 20 are mostly dependent on parents and do not understand the sense of earning or saving. So, teenagers shell out mostly on aesthetics and clothes whereas elders like to spend limited on these and divert more towards savings and investments. Though income levels of an individual might contribute to what they buy and what they spend most on, age actually influences the behavior.

In addition to this, we tend to be in relevance with similar age group in the society. It’s a common fact that youngsters even with budget constraints buy cheaper clothes, shoes or gadgets they are interested in. TRENDS journal conducted a survey in which they approached people from diverse age groups and questioned what would they buy if they were given 500 $, 96% of the young people said clothes from luxury brands and 92% of the 40-60 group opted to purchase household groceries or mutual funds . These finding corroborated the fact that age is a pivotal factor in shopping habits.

To conclude, age is the most impending characteristic than any other in shopping habits due to the changes it instills in thinking styles and society influences.