People should work a fixed number of hours per week, and employers should not ask anybody to work more than this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People do believe that the number of working hours of an employee should be fixed and should not work beyond these working hours demanded by the employer.

First and foremost, any organisation having fixed working hours for the workers must recieve fixed wages for the same. If any worker is asked to do overtime then that person needs to be given an extra pay for his extra work. However, there are some companies which stresses on more work without paying them extra. This is sheer exploitation. Hence, such workers can adjure the management of the company or can even appeal their case in the court. Although, it is not an easy process but one should know their employment rights under the Factories' Act 1948.

On the other hand, workers having low income might concede with their employers in working extra hours without any additional pay. This is mainly because they apprehend their loss of jobs. In addition to this, such workers may commence part time work at a place nearby in order to compensate their income. Thus, it shall lead to health issues. For instance, a person on an average working for 16 hours including overtime along with the other tasks to balance out his income, may suffer from brain disorders. More importantly, his family time, eating habits, mental stress et cetera could lead to other health problems.

Recently, a case has been filed against a company where the employers' exploitation led to the death of his worker who was working overtime without any pay. This was due to lack of proper sleep which resulted in mismanagement of machines and consequently his death.

To conclude, government should impose a strict penalty on such companies and their employers who misuse the basic rights of the workers. Therefore, it is always mandatory to abide by the laws of government in relation to company laws.