People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on an individual and on society?

In many places, people generally take less sleep than before. In my opinion, modern life style decreases the time people spend on bed, this decreasing time to sleep is detrimental for both individual and society.

Firstly, modern life style plays the key role to make people sleep less. People are getting much more tasks during work hours which make them unable to finish daily tasks before scheduled off duty time, hence they have to work overtime. According to a survey in China, the time people go off work defer from 6pm to 8pm on average. More entertainment options are available also make people sleep less than previously. People can play games, watch movies on their phones and tablets. This makes people who are relatively less self-disciplined spend time on these devices rather than sleep immediately when they go to bed.

Secondly, spending less time on sleep can be harmful for both individual and society. From individual perspective, sleeping less can adversely affect the process of organ detoxify at night which creates health problems such as diabetes, obesity and high blood pressure. In the level of society, less sleep makes people become fatigue easier what can delay people’s ability to response to emergency situations. As a result, it increases the probability of accidents that is considered to be hidden dangers to general public.

To conclude, people sleep less than people due to the existence of modern life style. Sleeping less lead to health problem while increases the likelihood of traffic accidents. This is detrimental for both individual and society.