People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on an individual and on society?

Human body needs up to eight hours of sleep every day is a world known fact, but people now-a-days tend to have less sleep relatively. This essay will chalk out the effect it has on such a habit.

Today, there are various factors that are a cause of lesser sleep. Firstly, with the increasing thirst to become successful, people have become workaholic hence they tend to work more and compromise with their sleep. Secondly, stress has been one of the major reasons - the college students and younger employees are stressed most of the time due to increasing competition around them. In most of the cases, fights and tensions among the family members that keeps them awake at nights is a cause of stress too. Thirdly, people have been having various health issues due to bad lifestyle, alcohol consumption etc. that also result in less hours of sleep sometimes.

All the factors that contribute to people being sleep deprived have seen a major increase in the recent past. The work, the competition, the stress level due to studies, pressure for meeting the deadlines are a few major causes of people getting into Depression. The consequence to this is that people gradually stop interacting and socializing with others, and get into a shell of isolation. This is majorly seen on the younger generation and is now transferring to the small kids who see their young parents depressed all the time. Degrading health and poor performance in schools are some key changes that can be seen on children lately. As an illustration, my cousin was recently diagnosed with depression and her four-year old daughter has been showing signs of irritation too. She is frustrated most of the time and shows lack of interest in almost every day-to-day activities.

To conclude, people need to sleep enough to avoid such levels of anxiety and stress. This is a cycle and one person affecting by it makes everyone else suffer. Therefore, sleep of seven to eight hours every day is extremely important and necessary for one’s mental growth.