Foreign Tourists must be charged higher fees that local people to visit cultural places and historical sites. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion including relevant examples.

Countries and cities have multiple visiting places that the tourists are charged for, depending upon the place and its area that it surrounds. This essay will discuss the argument if the fee should be charged more from the foreign people.

One of the most important factors why foreign tourists must be charged more is for the development of the tourist places everywhere. For example, a country like India has several historical monuments and tourist places and a huge portion of the funds come in through the visitors. This money inflow helps the authorities to maintain and develop the places. As an illustration, the famous Taj Mahal has been able to gain a lot of tourist attention since ages. In addition to the beauty of the Taj Mahal, one would find that even the entrance and the lawn area is well maintained and tidy. The national parks would be another instance, where a lot of cash inflow is required to maintain the park as well as feed the animals and provide proper facilities. There would be a considerable decrease in funds if foreign tourists are charged the same as the locals.

The locals, on the other hand, usually do not visit the places very often. Being in the same city, they do not prefer re-visiting the same places, and hence charging them higher would not really help in any way. Secondly, some small amount that foreign tourists pay gets multiplied and converts to a bigger amount in local currency. To illustrate, 10 dollars for a US tourist would be INR <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">600 </span> in India and hence it somewhat benefits both the parties. This, however, does not apply to every combination of the country but is a beneficial factor.

To conclude, tourists from foreign countries should not be charged unreasonably more. Nevertheless, the price should be relatively higher than what is charged to locals if one wants to focus on the development of the cultural and historical places.