People sleep less than they used to do in the past

What do you think is the reason behind this?

What are the effects on the individuals

People sleep fewer hours than they did many years ago. This is because we tend to work for longer hours compared to the past and this results in fatigue.

People tend to sleep less compared to the past because they are expected to work more. This is because the job market is more competitive than ever before and workers have to get more done or they may fall behind or replaced by someone else. Furthermore , they do not have time to relax and this disrupts their sleep pattern. For example, recent study showed that average employee works 2.4 hours more than average workers in the 1970s.

The primary effect of this wide spread is chronic fatigue. that is to say large sections of the populations do not the get a required 8 hours sleep and this results in a high percentage of them being too tired to live their lives effectively. This could mean that they under perform at work and are more irritable with those around them or could even have health problems. For example, the Golden State Warriors basketball team employed a sleep expert and the studied players who sleep fo more than 9 hours a night and compared that with those that only got 6. Those that slept less had more injuries and actually performed worse on the court.

In conclusion, people are more sleep deprived than in previous generations due to longer working hours and the effect is that many are chronically tired to the point of exhaustion