People sleep less than they used to in the past. what are the reasons behind it? what are the effects on individuals?

People sleep fewer hours than they did many years ago. This is because they tend to work longer compared to the past and this results in fatigue and various diseases in people. This essay is going to discuss how the cutthroat competition in work encourages people to work hard and how this phenomenon of sleeping less will affect people's life.

To begin with, people tend to sleep less compared to the past because the job market is more competitive than ever before and workers have to get more work done or they may fall behind or be replaced by someone else. The cost of living is becoming expensive rapidly, therefore people need to work more to earn more to spend on food, education, and healthcare. Additionally, people equate their happiness and contentment with the money they get from their work because they want to live a luxurious life and enjoy all the modern facilities.

This trend has negative effects on an individual and on communities associated with the person, as less sleeping hours can cause depression, fatigue as well as many health problems which affect the productivity of a person. People get less time to relax and always feel tiredness which adversely affects their attentiveness to their work. Moreover, as people have to work hard they have to get up earlier and do not return home until late in the evening, consequently, they are left with few hours to spend with family. This greatly affects their relationship with their family members.

In conclusion, it is clear that people want to be competitive to secure their jobs or to fulfill their needs. The changes in sleeping patterns have a negative impact on individuals' health as well as in their personal life. I hope people will understand the importance of adequate sleep on their health as well as on family life and change this habit of sleeping

less.