People spend a lot of money on various things as they earn more money nowadays than before.

Is it a positive or negative development?

People’s lifestyle has a close link with their income. In recent years, their income has significantly increased and as a result, their lifestyle has been altered dramatically and they buy more goods than before. In this essay, the pros and cons of this new trend will be analyzed and it will answer whether this is a beneficial phenomenon?

On the one side, more purchases by people can be justified with the economic growth that it causes. It creates more job opportunities and let more people have a decent income. Recent research has shown that in recent years the income of people has increased by 80 percent and the number of job opportunities has increased by 200 percent. Consequently, the unemployment rate has decreased remarkably.

On the other side, many of the bought products are non-environmentally friendly and will not be degraded in the near future. What continuous of this trend may cause is serious damage to the environment. For example, look at the people in a supermarket and see the products they choose and also how they carry them. In many cases, you will see people get products that contain plastic and even they will carry them in plastic bags that are not biodegradable and will remain in the environment for a long time. Great damage to the environment is the consequence.

In summary, more money in the hand of people has caused more purchases of products which leads to economic growth while damages the environment. This trend is unstoppable and has some positive effects. Therefore, it is suggested that governments interfere with setting some rules to protect the environment and also educate people to demand more eco-friendly products to mitigate its negative effects.