People who read for pleasure have better imagination and language skills than those who prefer watching TV. To what extent do you agree?

Since ages, education has been an indispensable part of our life. It’s been long debated that individuals who indulge themselves in the habit of book reading to have good imaginative as well as language skill than those who loves watching television. I completely agree with this as book reading is an active activity whereas television is passive.

To begin with, there is no denying the fact that book reading requires a lot of brain activity. An individual has to use their brain to convert words into visual memory to understand the scene depicted by the writer and all these visuals need to be remembered till the climax to understand the narrative of the writer. This exercise seems to be a piece of cake, but it requires years of practice. It is been observed that most of the people developed their liking toward reading from an early age. Needless to mention, this exercise makes them smarter and sharper their old age too. A study by Oxford University suggests that people who continue to read in their old age have less chances of getting Alzheimer's, Dementia, etc.

Additionally, reading not only strengthen your brain but also strengthen your command over the language. A person needs to understand what a writer is trying to communicate and this is only possible when they understand the language and its structure.

On the other hand, watching a film or a television series does not require higher mental activity as we get to see every in black and white. We have to just sit on a couch and enjoy the show like a cooked meal. The audience does not need to imagine anything and everything is portrayed in the sequence which does not need higher neural activity.

All in all, reading a book has a lot of benefits as it strengthens our imaginative and language skills because a person is actively involved in the activity. Whereas, sitting in front of a television and enjoying the show requires the least mental exercise.