The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's modern world, the proportion of obesity in younger generations has risen drastically by nearly 20 percent in the last decade. This essay will discuss the causes which are change in the eating habits of children and sedentary lifestyle. This essay will discuss the effects of the rise in weight on children which are poor health conditions and mental development.

With the opening of fast food restaurants in every nook and corner, offering free home delivery makes it convenient for children to order junk food such as pizzas and burgers at home. Additionally, with both parents working children are left unsupervised, not realising that they are indulging in bad eating habits and thus, increasing their weight. Moreover, with the development of technology such as computers and iternet, young people spend most of their time playig video games and surfing on internet, as a result, reducing the frequency of outdoor activities and eercise, which results in obesity. To elucidate, according to a recent study more than 50 percent of children in metropolitan cities are suffering with overweight issues.

By eating food with zero nutrional values with no exercise increase the quantity of accumulated fat in their body, as a consequence they suffer from cardiovascular problems, type A biabetes and lower energy levels. This will not only affect their overall growth and personality development but will also have a negative influence on their future. Furthermore, they will not be ale to perform exceptionally good in academics and thus will not be able to prepare themselves for their future endeavours. To exemplify, in countries like UK and USA, majorit of children are suffering from health related issues because of rise in their weight.

To conclude, the major causes of increase in weight among children is thier unhealthy diet and inactive life, this has effets adversely on their physical and cognitive developemnt. It is recommended, that the younger generations should be made aware about the problems with poor diet and increased weith and must be encouraged to eat balanced diet and pla sports.