The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Obesity has become one of pressing problem in this contemporary world. Overweight among children in particular has seen a rapid increase in last decade. The causes for increasing obesity are multiple ranging from technology advancements to eating life style of children. These have a devastating impact in short term as well as long term when left unattended. This essay will analyze the causes and consequent effects along with relevant examples.

First and foremost, one of primary causes for increasing child obesity is changing food habits of children. There is lot of impulse and binge eating among children caused by increased stress and change in dietary habits. Many opine that eating junk food is a method to combat stress re-sulting in losing focus of their health and weight.

In addition to erratic eating, technology advancements have done little to minimalize this trend. Having access to many gadgets and videogames , it have made kids lazier than ever. With little to no activity, lack of physical movement is second most contributing factor to increased obesi-ty among teenagers. To illustrate this, an Oxford study indicates that there is 25% increase in usage of gaming consoles among children <15 years of age in last 5 years . Thus it is conclu-sively clear that primary causes for increase in number of overweight children are lack of phys-ical activity stemming from technology dependency and also eating habits.

Children who are obese could face some serious physical and psychological problems. As they say sitting is the new smoking, increased fat and cholesterol in body leads to many hazardous health issues such as eating disorders , risk of being diabetic and many heart related issues. It is observed that 50% of children who are overweight are at risk of type-2 diabetes. The psycholog-ical problems include being fat shamed in a society and bullied at school creating mental pres-sure consequently giving rise to suicidal tendencies at this early age.

To sum it up, as child obesity is increasing at an alarming rate a whopping 20% in last ten years, the probable causes and effects such as inactivity and health issues have been discussed in this essay. The onus is on caretakers and parents to ensure children are fed healthy food and indulge in some sport so that this curve can be flattened.