Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects. Other people say this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate if international news has to be included in the high school curriculum. I believe it is not the best usage of stipulated school hours to make students study about global current affairs. This essay will discuss the difficulty of adding a new subject in a cramped timetable and also discuss how understanding the happenings around the world at school will broaden the student’s horizon and motivate to choose a career in future.

There is ample evidence indicating that it is crucial to understand world affairs from a certain perspective. Although information is available at finger tips from various sources in this internet driven world, it is essential that young minds be able to dissect the happenings and have an insight on the effects of it. Studying it as subject at school will ensure that the news from around the world is explained by teachers and could ignite the thought in students to take up career in international affairs. To illustrate this, 40% of the individuals serving in foreign services of the USA responded that they were benefitted from the current affairs class they had in their secondary grades. Therefore it is conclusively clear that making it as a regular subject, it aids the student in understanding complex news and also motivate them for their future careers.

On the other hand, amidst the protests of parents against the increasing pressure from schools on children, adding an additional subject could be an unwelcomed proposition to many. Students are burdened enough with regular subjects and competitive exams to stay ahead in life. Incorporating international news which does not have any immediate effect student’s progress will leave little personal time which could eventually lead to depression and other mental health problems. For instance, the increased suicide rate among school children is due to lack to balancing study and play hours as reported by BBC. Thus it is possible to state that it is not advantageous to include international news as students are focused more on the mainstream subjects.

To conclude, despite its benefit in helping students have a better understanding of the effects on on going events around world, introducing international news as a subject could put students under enormous stress