More and more prisons are being built to house the world’s criminals, and many people believe long-term imprisonment is the answer to solving the crime problem. However, oth-ers feel that psychological assistance is what is required. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime rate has steadily increased over the decades and is one of the pressing problems in many countries. Some argue that sentencing criminals for longer duration in jails is a rem-edy for misdeeds, I partially agree to this view. This essay will discuss deterrence and cost of prevented crimes as a result of increased captive time also impact of rehabilitation cen-ters and community service on crime rate along with relevant examples to support my views.

On one hand, imprisonment of criminals is a popular opinion of many to reduce the crime rate. The central reason for this is two fold, primarily, deterrence from committing a crime. Stringent laws of extended time in lock up even for petty crimes will make citizens more responsible and dissuade them from committing a crime. Secondly, the cost of crimes prevented is greater than the cost of operating prisons. From a society perspective it is viewed as an efficient method as potential loss incurred by committing an offence is greater than detaining a criminal. To illustrate this, a study by Oxford University states that a community could incur $5 million dollars of crime if there is release of 1/10th of pop-ulation from jails. Therefore it is conclusively clear that sentencing violent offenders to be locked up has significant effect on crime rate and cost of crimes.

Although there is a case for confinement of criminals in prison, the influence of rehabilita-tion centers cannot be understated. There is ample evidence that rehabilitation centers or helping facilities are instrumental in changing the psyche of lawbreakers. Positive condi-tioning leads to remorse which is essential and primary reason for punishment. Further-more, sentencing to service the community will also aid the wrongdoer in understanding the crimes committed towards the society he/she is a part of. They can also be an evangelist to not commit crime and spread positivity. Thus it is possible to state that community ser-vice and rehabilitation centers are key in reducing the crime rate.

To sum it up, even though both the ways lead to the same goal that is solving the crime problem, I suppose that relying on only one is view is not helpful and combination of both can fetch amazing results and also create a good culture going forward.