Some people believe that children are given too much free time. They feel that this time should be used to do more school work. How do you think children should spend their free time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Effective management of free time is crucial especially among kids growing up. Some argue that it is to be utilized for school related academic work, I disagree to this thought. I believe that there has to be a healthy balance between extracurricular activities and study time so that children can rejuvenate after they come back home and at the same time to polish their skills along with focus on subjects they struggle at.

To begin with, there is ample evidence indicating that pupils crave some hours away from books and all the hustle. The central reason for this is less attention span. After a daylong of education, it is advisable that kids are to be encouraged in exploring their interests in different fields of life and also refreshes the mind which is crucial for mental health. To illustrate this, an Oxford University report suggests that the age between 7-14 is where the attention span is lowest as compared to others and where the brain is still in the nascent stage and is to be handled with care. Therefore it is conclusively clear that study hours at school take a toll on pupil’s psyche and needs to be diverted on various other activities of interest.

Although there is a case for extra curricular activities acting as a revitalizer for children, the relevance of extra efforts on education cannot be understated. Pledging additional time to learning ensures that one stays ahead of the competition which has long term benefits. For example, a TIMES NEWS survey suggests that youngsters who have a score of 750 and above , have had studied for at least 4 hours a day leading them to a full scholarship program at a reputed colleges. Thus it is possible to state that some duration apart from regular school time will have resounding results.

To sum up, while I believe that young boys and girls are to be given free time to pursue their talents, using the leisure time effectively is vital in prepping them for later stages of life.