In many countries, the government prioritizes economic growth above all other

concerns.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

The issue of prioritizing economic activity over others by many countries has been debata-ble since the advent of globalization. I believe that despite the disadvantages, such as in-creased environment pollution and potential inflation of prices, improved standard of liv-ing and better employment opportunities eclipses them. In this essay I will discuss both ad-vantages and disadvantages by illustrating the economic recovery by India during a pan-demic and also WHO’s forecast on causes of global warming.

On one hand, putting economic growth ahead of others will better the lives of majority of population. The central reason for this two fold, primarily, greater employment opportuni-ties to the unemployed. Unemployment is a pressing issue in many countries which can be tackled by improving the economic state of a nation. Focusing on economic development will attract many companies to invest in the country resulting in more skilled and unskilled jobs to people. Secondly, enhance standard of living . More jobs results in increased gdp and higher disposable income. This results in demand for better products and lifestyle which entices many multi national companies to launch their products to people. To illus-trate this, the growth story of Indian economy can be entitled to a disruptive economic pol-icy launched by the government in 1993 by liberalizing and privatizing industries which resulted in a consistent double digit growth for next 10 years. Therefore it is conclusively clear that improved wealth creation activities has holistic effect on the lives of people

On the other hand, there are long term effects of economic centered development. The two central drawbacks of it are Environmental pollution and inflation. Inflation of prices is due to supply unable to meet the sudden increase in demand which consequently enables sup-pliers to increase the prices. Furthermore, more economic activity leads to more produc-tion which will result in rise of carbon dioxide levels in atmosphere. More waste is generat-ed and also increases deforestation to accommodate various factories. Thus it is possible to state that focusing on economic activity has disadvantages in long run.

To recapitulate, although there is environmental pollution with increased economic activi-ty, better jobs and raise in the standard of living has immediate effect on population which eclipses the aforementioned drawbacks. These can also be mitigated by careful planning by bureaucrats and governments.