In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

Economic development is extremely important for any country and many countries keep it at the top of their priority. Their are certain ups and downs of this approach, although I believe the disadvantages outweighs the advantages of keeping financial growth prior to other important affairs of a country such as education and agriculture, in the priority list.

Economy is the cornerstone of a nation's development. Without a robust economic backbone, no other affairs of a country can be looked after with confidence, at least not without an aid from some other country. For example developed country such as Australia or Canada that are also economically strong and are now focusing more on other matters, would not have that benefit to be able to invest on other priority to the extent they are doing if they did not have a good supply of fund at their hand. Hence, there are clear advantages of focusing on economic growth.

However, there are other areas government need to focus simultaneously if they look for a sustainable economic growth and not just a fluke. Focusing only on economy of a country leaving behind more important areas such as educational sector or agricultural sector will not give the growth longevity because a huge amount of money will go out just to feed own people if proper focus is not given on agriculture and also there will not have any future generation to take forward the development if proper education is not supplied. For instance, for developing countries like Bangladesh it is probably more important to address the basic need of the nation such as food, education, basic treatment and accommodation than focusing only on economic growth beyond everything else.

Therefore, having discussed both pros and cons I believe giving extra focus on economy may take governments eye off the other important areas. Rather, a balanced importance need to be given on all the important areas as mentioned above.