Nowadays more and more people have to compete with young people for the same jobs.

What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

The advent of new technologies and technological innovations every day brings people from different generations to head to head, competing for the same jobs. The impact of this phenomenon includes increasing unemployment in elder generation and frustration among many elder people due to having to work for a low salary, for their survival in the competition. This essay discusses these problems and suggests some solutions to address the issue.

One of the problems is, competing more and more with young people increases unemployment in people from previous generations. Young people, generally more sophisticated, outcompete their seniors because most of the jobs are technology-oriented nowadays. For example, job of a teller in a bank is now being done using software that in most cases can better be done by younger people, which renders them a better choice in comparison to their counterpart. Moreover, having to race with a young person, who more often than not will be less demanding, for the same position, compels an elder person to lower their demand. If I take the same example of the teller job, even an experienced teller might end up getting a salary as low as a fresher, if not lower.

Several steps can be taken from the government level to address these problems. Firstly, the government can conduct frequent and regular vocational training to educate elder people to bring them to the mainstream in this era of technology. For instance, the government of India has taken a number of vocational programs to train people from all age group to keep them up-to-date and enable them to cope-up with the latest technologies. Secondly, the government should also prepare a long term strategy to create jobs for people from different age group, in accordance with the demographics of the country. A prime example of this is, every year the federal government in Australia makes a survey to identify the need for different kinds of jobs for the various segment of citizens and make a strategy accordingly.

In conclusion, I believe that unemployment and a frustrated group of older people are the main symptoms caused by people from different age group competing for the same jobs. This problem can be mitigated if appropriate schemes from the government level, such as development programs and demographics-wise job creation are in place.