In many countries, the government prioritizes economic growth above all other

concerns.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion

It is argued that higher authorities of many nations are focusing more on an upsurge of economic growth and giving least importance to the other issues. While the main advantage of this is the prosperity of the nation, I believe that excessive pollution is a serious drawback.

The primary benefit of focusing more on economic prosperity is that it results in a wealthier nation because governmental elites emphasize on establishing more industries to increase their products. In other words, it reduces poverty by offering employment and giving high wages to the workers so that they flourish in terms of their personal growth. As more people receive a huge amount of salary it raises their living standard and results in up-gradation of the monetary status of the nation. For example, in 2010 Chines government introduced a policy which focuses more on the living standard of its nations due to which it has become the second-largest economy in the world. However, I believe that this focus raises many other serious concerns not only to the country but all over the world.

a major disadvantage of giving more importance to economic growth is it gives rise to serious environmental concerns. This is to say that when more industries are established it contributes more towards polluting the atmosphere because industries are the main cause of air, water, and land pollution. For example, Ukraine government set goals to increase their GDP to significant levels but an annual report published by United Nations stated that annual contribution of Ukraine in polluting environment is 5% and they need to adopt sustainable development goals.

To conclude, the government of many states emphasizes more on economic development, although it reduces poverty among the nation.