In many countries, criminal trials in law courts are being shown on television for the general public.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In many parts of the world, the trend of on-airing criminal prosecutions for people is blossoming at a very rapid pace. I believe it to be extremely disadvantageous not only in terms of affecting the delinquent's family but also in terms of raising questions on the criminal justice system. This essay will explore how these two mega-disadvantages have the potential to outshine any benefits.

Justice court proceedings on television bring forth a lot of mega-drawbacks. Firstly, this new trend has a deep impact on the lives of the criminal's kith and kin due to the stigma associated with them. As their children and wife approach to any organization, they face a lot of trouble and they are recognized as relatives of criminals. They are unable to secure a better position in schools and offices. This fact can be better explained with an example of a report related to broadcasting prosecution, which revealed that the recent surge in bullying of their families on the workplace and schools has been attributed to these trials programs on TV. Thus, this huge flaw has the potential to undermine any benefit by conducting open trials.

Secondly, viewers are more likely to form their own opinions related to the crime just based on their lack of understanding of the jury system. Since the trial board stands chances of being easily influenced by the media pressure as well as the viewer’s point of view. Take an example of Japan, where a recent survey revealed that the majority of Japanese prefer to take part in court trials and they want their opinions to be considered. Hence, it somehow leads to their biased ideas towards a problem.

However, the only minor advantage that I can relate to this development is that it gives a moral lesson to criminals and people to keep away from such activities and rectify themselves, but this benefit is extremely rare and elusive because a few people learn from real-life examples.

To sum up, from the above discussion, it can be concluded that the drawbacks of showing trials on media, especially in terms of affecting the credibility of their family members and developing mistrust on courts overshadow the minor advantage related to educating viewers.