Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at the school.

To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed by many study experts that student exchange programs are beneficial for teenagers during their study period. In my opinion, students traveling abroad experience both merits and demerits depending upon the situation, which will be highlighted in detail in the upcoming paragraphs.

The foreign student exchange program has a myriad of benefits. Firstly, students from the third world nations get the opportunity to study in the world top-ranked universities institutions. This is to say that foreign institutions are equipped with state-of-the-art facilities such as qualified researchers and experienced staff. This helps learners get the opportunity to acquire quality education. Secondly, it broadens the students’ horizons. As they are exposed to several cultures and languages which helps gain invaluable experience. Thus, the gained experience and education can be utilized for the betterment of their own country.

However, there are certain drawbacks that individuals can experience during the visit. Behavioral issues are common during their stay in another country. As in the absence of parents, teenagers experience liberty for the first time which spoils them. Upon arrival in the native country, many parents experience the non-obedient behavior of their children. Furthermore, many teenagers live with family back home due to which they usually get homesickness. During their stay, feelings of loneliness and isolation are the worst experience which is ever faced by them. Hence, this profoundly affects their overall academic performance.

To sum up, I believe that the international student exchange program has both the benefit of providing quality education and experience as well as the drawbacks of behavior issues.