In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst

younger generations.

Why is this happening?

Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

The used clothing industry is booming all around the world by leaps and bounds. It is thought by many that in recent times the trend of purchasing resoled clothes is becoming ubiquitous among young masses. This essay will argue that out of numerous the primary reason for this phenomenon is cost-effectiveness. However, I would suggest that this is an unwelcome development because of health risks.

The major cause of the staggering increase is affordability, because of reduced cost. This is to say that people resale their clothes which are in good condition, and young people find it more convenient to buy because they do not have to spend a hefty amount of their pocket-money on their attire. Younger generations are mostly students or part-time workers; they have a tight monetary budget to spend on first-hand clothes. Hence, it is more appropriate for them to opt for this way to save money. For example, a recent survey report stated that 70% of young shoppers prioritize to visit the second-hand market for their shopping to save money.

On the other hand, it is considered as an appalling development because of the high risk of catching infectious diseases from these clothing. In other words, a costume worn by a person who has some serious infectious disease, the risk of transfer of bacteria from one person to another through these clothes increased by tenfold. In addition, due to a lack of awareness about disinfecting techniques among users, there is a high threat of acquiring a contagious ailment. For example, recent research conducted by biologists on clothes imported from different countries stated that 30% of the dresses contain resistant bacteria, which can cause several serious illnesses such as, contact dermatitis, Tuberculosis and many more.

To conclude, Second-hand clothes are inexpensive as compare to the brand new which is the main reason of preference by the younger generation. However, it is not acceptable to jeopardize our lives because of the stigma of health issues stringed with them. It is recommended that the government should subsidize the clothing industry to lower the prices of new clothes so that the young generation could afford and save their lives.