Do you agree or disagree that governments should spend money on other things than art even though art helps develop quality in people’s life? Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Improving living standard of citizens is an important responsibility of governments. Some argue that money should be spent on art which creates a quality in people’s life, I disagree with this statement. In this essay I will discuss why poverty and crime control should be prioritized along with benefits on investing in infrastructure of the state with relevant examples to support my points.

To begin with, physiological needs precede the rest for countless under privileged people. Basic requirements such as food and shelter are essential to survive, requiring a majority of revenue allocation by the government. In addition to this, with increasing crime rate many seek more reforms in security system and demand the administrations to improve by employing more manpower to scrutinize and also upgradation of equipment to combat anti state forces. To illustrate this, a recent survey by KPMG research firm found that 40% of respondents from various cities in the USA wanted assurances about security improvement by the presidential candidates underlining the requirement for the same. Therefore it is conclusively clear that government has areas where spending of money is vital for a better life.

Furthermore, with growing population a boost to state infrastructure is a great initiative that could be undertaken by authorities, keeping future generations in perspective. The onus is on the present leaders to leave a legacy by taking up various measures whose benefits can be observed in later years. Creating a masterplan and building appropriate highways and amenities might not seem useful in the present day, but it will be viewed as definitive decision by following generations. To cite an example, the present city of London was masterminded in 19th century with carefully chalked out expansion plans which have come in handy for present administers. Thus it is possible to state that spending money on things with long term gains is a revolutionary thought to be followed by current governments.

To recapitulate, the quality of living can be improved by providing better welfare schemes to fulfil physiological needs of people along with careful investment in infrastructure for better tomorrow.