Nowadays many teenagers choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The startup culture is gaining momentum across the globe among teenagers. While internet revolution is a strong driver for this trend it is also reflects the changing attitude to be empowered. This essay will discuss aforementioned points along with the increased stress disrupting the work life balance and also the low probability of success with relevant examples.

There is ample evidence that greater number of youngsters are sacrificing a comparatively comfortable job to start their own ventures. The central reason for this is the idea of working for oneself rather than for others is liberating to youth. In addition to this, the income could be scalable and not fixed. The effort to reward ratio is much higher as compared to salaried jobs. For instance, an employee of an organization has a fixed income coming from a job throughout the year as compared to a business where it is dependent on demand and sales of product or a service which is proportional to the success of the company. Thus it is possible to state that attractive monetary benefits coupled with dynamic environment are detrimental for adolescents to float their own firms.

Although there is case for increased income by having one’s own business, the stress associated of making it into a profitable venture by sacrificing personal life cannot be understated. Right from its inception to end, the owner has to be involved and foresee all the operations regardless the timing. Furthermore, risk of it crashing and going bankrupt is higher in this competitive market. To illustrate this, an Oxford University study states that around 10000 companies file for bankruptcy every year in the USA and a success rate of startups at 20%. Therefore it is conclusively clear that besides the pressure involved, it is not easy to sustain and get consistent returns.

To conclude, in spite of having a distorted personal life and possibility of going broke, the emotional and potential returns lure the youngsters to discard a job and be self-employed.