People who buy friendly vehicles like electric cars should receive a subsidy on tax. This will discourage people from buying polluting cars and thus lower emissions. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Smoke emitted from cars is one of the major contributors to air pollution. Some argue that subsidy on eco friendly cars will help people migrate from regular cars and consequently bring down the carbon dioxide levels , I disagree to this statement. This essay will discuss how the priorities of a user whilst purchasing a vehicle and the hassles involved in maintaining an environment friendly car play a key role in the decision making along with relevant examples to support my statement.

There is ample evidence that people look at various features before buying a car such as durability, mileage and performance leaving the price of the car at the bottom of list. The central reason for this is production and research of electric cars is still in the nascent stage, people would not tend to invest thousands of dollars on a machine which might not prove its utility worth. To illustrate this, a recent report from the Nation Automobile Board indicates that electric cars have reported highest number of fatalities in road accidents due to untimely breakdown of engine. Therefore it is conclusively clear that safety and comfort of an individual is prioritized over the value of machine.

Secondly, repair cost, maintenance and location of charging spots is a hassle which could refrain people from purchasing electric cars despite being an economical alternative. The cost of repairs and the time spent in searching for a charging spot to recharge the battery is considerably higher , than a regular car making it unattractive for potential customers. To illustrate this, an Oxford university survey states that maintaining a Tesla EV is 20% higher than a regular Ford car due its requirement to constantly update its electric system. Thus it is possible to state that when all the costs weighed in, a normal car is a preferred at this juncture.

To conclude, although there is a possibility of bringing down the emission levels of atmosphere by providing subsidies on EV purchases, in my opinion unless the requirements of the consumers change along with improvement in post purchase services, there is slim hope of fueling the usage of eco friendly vehicles.