Levels of youth crime are increasing rapidly in most cities around the world. What are the reasons for this, and suggest some solutions.

Increasing crime rate, especially the youth is alarming in majority of cities across the globe. While unforeseen population growth and lack of employment opportunities comprises the top two reasons, stringent policy making and occupying youngsters with social work are some measures to prevent youngsters from entering the criminal world.

There is ample evidence that higher unemployment rate is key aspect for creating more juveniles. The central reason for this is rising population. With more number of people competing for limited jobs, many of them resort to violence and take up unlawful path. In addition to this, it also reduces the number of police officers per thousand population, making the potential criminals believe they could get away with an offence. To illustrate this, an oxford research study suggests that cities with 200 police officers for thousand people have often resulted in less than 100 law breaking incidents in the past 5 years. Therefore it is conclusively clear that young men and women, unwaged due to insufficient work often break the law out of necessity.

The onus is on the government to bring down the curve by drafting effective policies and also ensuring the implementation of the same. Strict implementation of laws creates a sense of fear among young citizens and could make them think twice before acting on their instincts. Furthermore, the administration should also focus on utilizing the young adults to partake in various social activities such as to take care of old people at old age homes and also other state related events so that they are occupied and have a sense of belonging towards the society. For instance, BBC news has covered a story on a 26 year old Florida man , a reformed criminal who now works at a non profit organization which care takes stray and injured animals, who is an inspiration to many and setting an example to others. Thus it is possible to state that bureaucracy support for disturbed youth is imminent in leading a lawful life.

In conclusion, the growth in unlawful actions by youngsters either due to joblessness or for an easy lifestyle, has to be brought under control by execution of the laws strictly and creating opportunities to make them part of the community