Television dominates the free-time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Television is one of the sources of entertainment to majority of the population across the globe. few argue that some people spend their majority of leisure time to their couches and viewing channels thus making them lazy and also hamper their social skills, I disagree to this statement. This essay will discuss how content on TV enable people to socialize in a better way along with being informative and healthy whilst viewing it.

There is ample evidence that there has been a paradigm shift of general fitness and knowledge of an average audience. The central reason for this is introduction of activity shows such as fitness and art creation programs. It enables the audience to simultaneously work with instructors thus keeping them engaged informative and healthy at the same time without stepping out of their homes. To illustrate this, an Oxford University survey suggests that the subscriptions to trainer led channels have increased from 10% to 70 % exemplifying the growing demand among the viewers. Therefore it is conclusively clear that television indirectly aids in improving mental and physical health of people.

The primary topics of discussion in any social gatherings will be the content that’s aired. It is not an understatement when said that the matches broadcasted on television are source of making or breaking a relationships. The primetime news debates also helps individuals develop an educated perspective of the events happening and also act on it. To exemplify this, an incident reported on a Israeli news channel stirred a revolution against the current government policies and also succeeded in reforming them. Thus it is possible to state that it plays a key role in keeping the audience abreast of happening events and consequently be active part of the society.

To sum up, although spending time watching television is frowned upon by many, in my opinion it acts as a medium of communication to the masses and also brings together people of similar interests along with maintaining their fitness.