Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad.

To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved?

What are the drawbacks?

The movement across countries for various reasons has increased since the turn of the 21st century. Migration to a foreign country to pursue education has equal benefits to students as well as the country. While students gain invaluable experiences, the country’s economy and global popularity will also be increased. This essay will analyze the aforementioned points with relevant examples along with drawbacks of having foreign nationals in a country for longer time.

To begin with, many students undergo major transformations during their course stay. Learning of a new culture would help to broaden their horizons. Learning a new language and expressing opinions by conducting own research along with learning from reputed professors at ivy league institutions will motivate individuals to achieve more in life. In addition to this, there will be a drastic increase in economy of a country. To illustrate this, an Oxford University study states that, students from foreign countries contribute to nearly 20% of a country’s economy. Thus it is conclusively clear that there are mutual benefits to the host countries and students pursing their course.

Although there are various benefits to multiple stakeholders, the effect on local unemployment cannot be understated. Local petty jobs are taken over by visiting students resulting in higher unemployment rate. This leads to agitation among nationals and leading to resistance to immigrants. For instance, there was a recent parade carried out by residents of California against the existing immigration policy amidst rising unemployment. Therefore it is possible to state that entry of foreign students has effect on local employment opportunities.

To conclude, despite the increase in jobless individuals locally, which can be contained by tweaking policies, the benefits to economy of country and students are far greater.