Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Educational achievements are usually equaled with the performance of a candidate in a written examination. It is often argued that , they do not accurately reflect the knowledge and new methods should be put in place. I support this thought. This essay will discuss how text based knowledge does not suffice in some areas of expertise and unreliable human evaluation of the pen and paper tests along with relevant examples to support my points.

To begin with, there is ample evidence that marks secured by traditional handwritten examination is not an appropriate parameter to gauge an individual’s understanding of education in this contemporary world. The central reason for this is, it could only validate theoretical knowledge but not the application of it. Organizations and educational boards therefore demand a mix of practical examinations of the subjects such as biology and chemistry along with projects driven assessment that reflects the true learning and excellence of students there forth. To illustrate this, an Oxford University report suggests that, 80% of organizations prefer canditates with multiple projects on their CV with average marks rather than individuals securing a distinction in their exams. Therefore it is conclusively clear that the world is slowly moving away from pen and paper based to a more holistic valuation of student’s performance.

Secondly, there is a diminishing credibility of evaluation. Many factors influence the score of the examination with evaluation being the most impactful one. The auditors who value the exam paper are often criticized for being laidback and not efficient with large discrepancy observed from one auditor to other. For example, it has been noticed that the marks of students are modified when applied for re-valuation of the paper, when they deemed to be not satisfied underlining the negligence in the first instance. Thus it is possible to state that a more robust and lesser error prone alternative such as computer based examinations are the way forward as the error rate is comparatively lower than human corrections.

To sum up, with advancements in technology and increased competition there is a need for an overhaul change in how we asses an individual’s education accomplishments such as migrating to a computer based and also including practical and projects in the criteria.