Some people think it is more beneficial to play sports that are played in teams, e.g. football. However, others think it is more beneficial individual sports, e.g. tennis and swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sports play a crucial role in mental and physical well being of a person. Some argue that playing a team sport is more advantageous than taking part in an individual sport, I partially agree to this statement. In this essay I will analyze how team sport is more enjoyable and develops leadership skills alongside the benefits of not playing a team sport.

To begin with, sports when played with teams are more entertaining and pleasurable. sharing equal responsibility with other team-mates, there will be no lack of motivation even when a person is not having their best day. Secondly, evolution of leadership skills. Adverse situations are not uncommon in any game. Absorbing pressure and uplifting the spirit of others are key attributes of a leader which are usually found in sports-persons. To illustrate this, 20% of ex-skippers from various sports such as football and cricket, comprise the list of top 100 motivational speakers rolled out by Oxford university. Therefore it is possible to state that playing a team sport is not only enjoyable but also aids in becoming a better leader.

Although there is a case for enhancing leadership skills in a team sport, the concentration and dedication required in an individual sport cannot be understated. It is not easy to train alone everyday and keeping the goal insight. The amount of dedication required to excel at top level consistently is unmatchable to their counterparts playing in a team. Furthermore, the onus is on the individual even if its a win or loss. The honors, prize money need not be shared as with the critics in a bad performance. Thus it is conclusively clear that results are relative to efforts of an individual, more dedication and focus leads to long lasting glory.

To sum it up, despite the advantages of taking part in an individual sport, I feel that joyous moments in life are in sharing with others which can be done in a group sport.