Some people think that living in big cities is bad for people’s health.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The world is now divided into rural and urban areas. Some argue that living in big cities have negative impact on health, I second this thought. This essay will discuss how pollution and busy lifestyle in developed areas take a toil on one’s well being along with relevant examples to support my points.

To begin with, there is ample evidence that the air circulating in cities is unbreathable leading to various respiratory infections and heart strokes in extreme cases. The central reason for this is, increase of pollution levels in air. This is primarily due to rapid industrialization leading to industries running from residential areas as well as deforestation. To illustrate this, an Oxford University report suggests that, top 50 metropolis comprise 40% of all respiratory problems across the globe underlining the necessity of breathing pure air. Therefore it is conclusively clear that technically advanced areas have lower oxygen levels in air resulting in numerous health problems.

Secondly, the consumption of unhealthy food is higher in urban areas. Due to busy lifestyle, people get addicted to processed food leading to deficiency of nutrients required. In addition to this, the vegetables and fruits are not organically grown. The storing of them in frozen state depletes the proteins they carry leading to food poisoning and various cardiovascular diseases . For example, a recent survey by the WHO outlines that convenience food contributes to 80% of obesity and heart diseases. Thus it is possible to state that being actively occupied at work whilst residing in municipalities leads to bad diet and consequently exposing to fatal disorders.

In conclusion, despite accessible to better infrastructure, living in concrete jungles make citizens prone to various health issues due to high carbon dioxide levels in atmosphere and un availability of fresh food.