The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a drastic increase in the percentage of shoppers purchasing online. Some argue that sooner or later it will be the cause for closure of offline stores, I do not completely agree with this statement. This essay will discuss how diverse shopping preferences aid the stores to sustain and also outline the possible reasons for ecommerce to capture other markets.

There is ample evidence that online shopping is the way forward. The central reason for this is two fold, primarily, competitive prices. The attractive prices offered by the e-tailers are hard to compete leading to decrease in footfalls. Secondly, convenience. It eliminates the planning and hassle of going to a physical store to purchase a product. With just a click of button from the living room, with varied options, a product can be purchased and get it delivered on time. To illustrate this, a survey conducted by the ITO indicates that 70% of the respondents said they buy stuff online because of the countless options to select from a single place. Therefore it is conclusively clear that the clear advantages of online shopping over retail stores could lead to new shopping era.

Although there is a case for electronic shopping being convenient at discounted prices, the experience of purchasing from a physical outlet cannot be understated. The dissimilarity among shoppers is a primary reason for existence of many businesses. Despite the choice to purchase it from web, many buyers want to touch and feel the item before making a decision. In addition to this, window shopping and impulse buying pattern are the revenue drivers of offline stores which are not effected by changing trend. For instance, a wife of an IT employee insisted that she wants to visit a furniture showroom instead of buying a couch online as she would like to check the material used for the making. Thus it is possible to state that there are instances where people would prefer getting a product or item from a marketplace ensuring that physical shopping doesn’t become a thing of past.

In conclusion, irrespective of the increasing people migrating towards internet to shop, I believe that shops will not go obsolete as the different preference of buyers will keep them both relevant in the society.