Today, people think that attraction of foreign investment is necessary and important for the development of the economies of the host countries, while the others think that attraction of foreign investment has negative impact on the society and not only on this sphere. Discuss both sides and write your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing debate on the importance of FDI in a country. Some argue that it aids in the growth of an economy while others highlight the drawbacks associated with it. This essay will discuss the multitude benefits of having a foreign firm invest in state and also impact on local companies and environment along with my opinion why the advantages eclipses the drawbacks.

On the one hand, there is ample evidence indicating that there are direct and indirect advantages to a country’s revenue which a company chooses to invest in. This is due to the fact that adding a new firm from a multi national company will open loads of employment oppurtunities to natives leading to more tax collection and consequently increase in the GDP. Additionally, it also leads to holistic development of a city or state. New infrastructure will be introduced on par with global standards and creating a better lifestyle for citizens to match their increased spending power. To illustrate this, BBC research states that since 2001, when south Asian countries opened up to foreign investments, there was a 40% increase of basic wages year on year and 60% increase in the income tax revenue to the countries. Thus it is conclusively clear that funds pledged by foreign countries change the economic outlook of a country.

Although there is a case for changing financial fortunes of a state, the impact on the native companies cannot be understated. A corporate firm with its huge bank balances thwarts its local competitors and thus forcing them out of business. Furthermore, many companies migrate from developed countries to developing countries due to stricter environment policies in their native lands. as their presence is highly valued , there is little to zero resistance in launching their industries despite potential damage to air and water. For instance, the pollution of water has risen consistently in the rivers of India due banned toxic materials released by industries that have been granted special privileges by the government. Thus it is possible to state that there is an imminent threat to the flora and fauna as well as medium to small enterprises of a host country.

To conclude, in my opinion despite its disadvantages of damage to environment and local retailers I believe that opening the economy do have clear advantages financially and will continue to benefit in the long run.