In some countries police officers do not carry guns. How does this affect the manner they implement law and order? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a gun. Provide specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In few countries the law enforcement officials do not hold any firearms. Although there will not be much impact in discharging their duties every day, possessing a gun will infuse a sense of authority and I support it. This essay will discuss how it enables the officials to face any circumstances along with the negative effects of having a weapon citing examples to support the points.

On the one hand, having a pistol as part of the uniform will ensure that police executives are equipped to tackle any situation. In the rise of criminal rate across the globe, it makes sense to authorize the law enforcers to counter anti-social activities including use of weapon when necessary, to illustrate this, the murder rate during broad day light have increased exponentially in past 5 years underlining the need of a gun for the patrolling officers in shielding the citizens. In addition to this, it also aids in defending oneself from forces if any unwanted situation is ought to arise. Therefore it is conclusively clear that in the light of rising criminal activities it is pivotal for a policeman to possess a sidearm in safeguarding the community and self.

Although there is a case for better tackling of a serious crime, the possible abuse of power cannot be understated. There exist a small proportion of bureaucrats who do not understand that with great power come great responsibility leading to misuse of one’s capacity. This will break the trust that citizens have on the system and also force people to revolt against it. To cite an example, a recent incident of a false encounter of a colored national in the USA by a white officer led to protests across the nation forcing the government to take action on the official and also apologizing to the family. Furthermore, it also intimidates kids and females to approach the officers of law keepers with their grievances. Thus it is possible to state that few sections of society prefer a weaponless officers patrolling their streets.

To sum up, in my opinion despite wrong use of authority by few individuals, it is utmost necessity for policemen to be sanctioned a revolver at a minimum to battle ever increasing crimes in society.