Many people join distance-learning programmes (study material, post, TV, Internet) and study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefit as attending colleges or universities does.

Learning is a constant process in one’s life. Some argue that distance education does not aid an individual as a university does, I agree to this thought. This essay will discuss the necessity of convenient learning and global standard teaching along with the vitality of knowledge sharing and need of a captive environment to study with relevant examples to support my points.

To begin with, there is ample evidence suggesting that there is a drastic rise in number of people enrolling for corresponding courses both online and offline. The central reason for this is two fold, primarily, self pace programs are more comfortable. With no restrictions of being available at specific time, it is an ideal alternative to many working professionals. Secondly, availability of varied unorthodox courses that are not offered by regular educational institutions. Courses such as animation, VFX are not popular and do not feature in many colleges list. To illustrate this, an Oxford University research states that there are only 12 courses that are offered by 80% of universities across the globe. Therefore it is conclusively clear that distance learning is gaining popularity due to its ease and diverse range of courses present.

On the other hand, although there is a case for virtual classrooms offering multitude options to potential students, the necessity of captive education cannot be understated. A classroom environment helps the students to focus on understanding the subject and absorb the teachings of tutors. In addition to this, it also provides a platform to share the knowledge learnt with others and also receive other’s input which is crucial step in learning. Thus it is possible to state that physical classes still a preferred choice to many because of its ability to impart discipline in education.

To sum up, despite its advantage of being helpful to individuals who cannot spare specific time in a day, in my opinion it cannot replace regular education of attending college due to presence of classmates and instilling discipline in gaining knowledge.