Do you agree or disagree that the world was a better place decades ago that it is today? Why do you think so? Give specific details and examples to support your answer.

There is a stark difference in the present world and the world few decades ago. There is an argument that despite the advancements in technology, the planet was more happier and cleaner place for living beings than today, I agree to this statement. In this essay I will discuss the changing human values and impact of pollution along with relevant examples to support my view.

There is ample evidence indicating that pollution is a pressing concern for the planet earth resulting in loss of countless lives. The primary reason for this is rapid industrialization. In the late 1930’s there was a major ramp up in the production of goods with the advent of electricity coupled with growing population and rising demand. This led to inception of many factories across the world amidst residential areas resulting in pollution of clean water and fresh air, a root cause for many respiratory and log term ailments such as typhoid. To illustrate this, a report from the WCC committee state that there was a 200% increase of the co2 levels in atmosphere in the past 2 decades which has implied a 33% rise in patients suffering from lung related diseases. Therefore it is conclusively clear that the modern polluted world is unsafe to even breathe with many related problems looming over.

Furthermore, the older generations had always prioritized human values and traditions over riches creating a strong foundation for a society to flourish. In this fast paced world, it is a rarity to find such individuals. This create rifts in relationships of the households and also leads to corruption in the community. To cite an example, the average marriage life of a couple is currently standing at 5 years underlining the regard for the institution by people in modern day leading to more children in destitute homes and lonely adults Thus it is possible to state that better morals and ethics can pave way for brighter future for coming generations.

To sum up, I believe that although technology has made our lives easier, I would say the past world was indeed a cut above present in upholding the values and living a cleaner life.